Deal 24: Puzzled

Imagine a featureless plane, and a stack of tiles in two odd shapes with simple markings. Assembled by a few rules, it is always possible to add new tiles at the edges. Patterns emerge, but are never quite the same each time. A kind of order emerges from the chaotic pile of tiles.

Penrose tiled plane
aperiodically
with asymmetry
as far as the eye can see
patterns are non repeating

But I’m still stuck here on this plane world of my imagination. At least I don’t imagine hunger or thirst, just the ever-present box of tiles in two shapes. And they continue to fit even though the image I hope to see has not appeared.

insanity is
repeating and expecting
a diff’rent result
as far as the eye can see
patterns are non repeating

I must be going insane. Why don’t I find my situation stranger? Why am I stuck here? Who is enjoying my fate? By force of will I change how I see the world, but the change isn’t that huge. Now everywhere I look the plane is divided into little boxes. Some boxes are filled, but most have room for symbols. I have no clue any more…

crosswords anagrams
puzzles solved pen and paper
in ink in time in patience
as far as the eye can see
patterns are non repeating

Finally spent, I curl up in an empty square and wait for it to fill with Zs.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.