Deal 1047: Pop goes the weasel

It will surprise no one to know that dragons do dream. When we sleep long and hard, we dream deep and slow. But when we confine ourselves to these quick bodies, there’s no time for that and so we dream quick and shallow. Since Sydney arrived, I’ve been dreaming deeper. This worries me a little. It is always possible that this is the work of an elder, providing an opportunity for me to see the way through our problem. But it could also be a sign that this body is wearing out and that I will need to return her to storage for repair. If only the message could be more clear.

I understand that human mortals often have the same complaints about their dreams. Figuring out their meanings, that is.

Symbols in mine were clear. Strangeness is afoot, but only my axe can solve it. I don’t have an axe. And you aren’t that strange. Or weren’t. I don’t know what the number five has to do with any of this, but it is also entwined. So we got to work. The vision kept popping in and out of focus. As he drank, it got increasingly fuzzy. He’s drunk himself to sleep, and I require your service.

But I’m a dragon and we decidedly do not get drunk. We also do not kill people in their sleep, or make deals with slimy little weasels.

Leave a Reply

