Deal 935: Cage crash.

To my nose, the truth was everywhere. But no one else seemed aware. Of course, no one else has my nose, and they are all unaware. I like it like that.

I can tell that others have been here before us, muddling the already faint trail.

This isn’t a surprise, of course. I was nearly the last to the scene, being not entirely official. I also don’t have full access to the case. But I can see that the official side has become desperate so it is high time to provide some of that insight that apparently only I can provide tonight.

I pulled out my paraphernalia: dowsing rods, and such. I waved them over the mangled wreck, then around the room. It was a bit of a grisly scene, as one of those ornate birdcage elevators had come loose from everything at the uppermost balcony and plummeted to the death of the rider. There was plenty of material to draw upon, I just needed some cover for moving around the space.

“There was a beauty queen here. She’s not in the cage, so she came and went.”

The officer guarding me nodded and dutifully took notes. They can be so earnestly gullible at times, these young officers.

“She, of course, was here for tea.”

More wandering around pretending to follow the rods.

“There were three other guests, notice the place settings for four, but all untouched so either the party hadn’t started yet or the hostess was late. The hostess is there.” I pointed at the pile of twisted metal. More notes.

“There had been a feud, and this was a chance to attempt to find common ground. The hostess was providing neutral territory, and may even have been expected to decide something. The beauty queen was one side. The other two guests are more mysterious, but look for at least one more her early twenties, and perhaps a second matron.”

That should satisfy my need to meddle. For now, at least.

Leave a Reply

