Deal 777: Rats

The rats have returned. This time, they claim they have recordings.

This does not make me happy.

Why would anyone be happy about a rodent engaged in blackmail?

Don’t answer that, I know. My opponents will be ecstatic no matter how this breaks. If I pay off the rats, and that fact gets leaked, then I look like a fool that can be taken in by any con artist. But if I don’t pay the rats and they really have the recordings they claim to have, then I could be ruined.

On top of that, my campaign already makes me look like a fool. Who’s great idea was it to run on a platform of enviable reconciliation?

No, I know. My excuse is simply that it seemed like the best idea at the time.

Is it still a good idea?

Perhaps not. But changing course this late is risky. And reconciliation done properly will make us the envy of the world.

But only if the rats get their pound of flesh and no one finds out.

Damn rats.

Leave a Reply

